top of page

Victory over Temptation Prayer


The Canon of Prayer: Day 31

Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak. (Matthew 26:41) Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed. Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death. (James 1:13-15)

Our victory over temptation is already accomplish, many don’t realize it and even more don’t have the discipline to be victorious. We have everything we need for life and Godliness living inside of, the Holy Spirit (1 Peter 1:3). So we have the power to overcome every temptation that we encounter, we have the power to make it through every temptation that comes our way.

Temptation is the process of proving or proof, by provocation, solicitation or discipline. When temptation shows up, it is in those moments that we prove who we really are; it is there that we reveal our identity. When we lack discipline we identify with sin and not with God.

Jesus said to watch and pray-to be vigilant, to be on guard; to submit to the will of God and bring your flesh under to power of the Spirit of God living inside of you. We have been born again by the spirit in the spirit and from the spirit we will rule over the flesh and overcome temptation. “This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfill the lust (the desire, temptation) of the flesh” (Galatians 5:16).

As we live from our spiritual identity, we live from our dominion; the flesh, temptation, sin has no dominion over us. We must discipline ourselves to conform to the image of the son; who is our example. He was tempted by the devil in the wilderness and was victorious by allowing the word to govern His life and action (Matthew 4:1-11) Jesus was tempted in every area and was without sin (Hebrews 4:15).

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13)

Temptation is not only provocation, and solicitation but it is also unpleasant situations that we experience. The devil will bring anything into our lives to cause us to live, act, and operate outside of our spiritual identity. No matter what the situation, no matter what the provocation or solicitation; there is nothing that we will experience that is not common to man. There is nothing that we will experience in life that Jesus has not already given us victory over; but we must be discipline in our identity and we must live from that identity as sons of God, as light in the Darkness.

Prayer

Father I thank you, for the victory you have already given us; victory over our desire and temptation. Thank you for your Holy Spirit that is everything I need for life and Godliness, everything I need to overcome temptation and sin. The flesh is weak, but your grace in made perfect in my weakness, when I am weak Lord you are strong.

I know that the enemy is like a roaring lion, seeking whom He can devour; but greater are you in me than he that is in the world. Your Word declare that we overcome the world by our faith (I John 5:14); by being true to our identity as sons. I declare victory of the lust of the flesh, lust of the eyes and the pride of life, I declare victory over my flesh and walk in dominion.

I declare, there is no temptation that I can’t overcome, I declare there is no situation that I may experience that will cause me to deny my identity. I declare, I am more than a conqueror. I discipline myself in the spirit and take dominion over my flesh and bring it under the rule and reign of God. I bring every thought into subjection to the obedience of Christ and submit to your will so that I am not taken into temptation.

This is the decree of the King


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page