top of page

Prayer of Self-Control


The Canon of Prayer; Day 49 #selfcontrol

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (Galatians 5:22-23)

Self-control: the virtue of one who masters his desires and passions, esp. his sensual appetites. (blueletterbible.com)

Listed among the characteristics of the Spiritual new birth is the characteristic self-control. Fruit is the obvious and apparent evident of what kind of a tree you are dealing with. There can be much speculation as to what kind of tree it is, until the fruit shows up. As evident of the new birth in the spirit, the fruit-characteristics of the spirit should be evident in our lives. It is written this way…

“Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal, The Lord knoweth them that are his. And, let everyone that nameth the name of Christ depart from iniquity.” (2 Timothy 2:19 KJV) It is obvious to the King who belongs to Him; those that belong to exhibit the Character of the King, self-control; they depart from iniquity.

Self-control must be cultivated in the life of the believer, so that we are sure to live and operate in alignment with the Character of the King. Since the fall of man, humanity has become predisposed to living contrary to the will of God and it takes self-control to bring your flesh into subjection to the King. The bible says the carnal mind is at enmity-is contrary to the will of God; that is the mind not spiritually reborn of the Spirit. Once we are reborn, we have to retrain our mind; the Word of God says “be renewed in the spirit of your mind”. (Ephesians 4:23-24)

No matter what type of temptation you may experience, it can never overtake you unless you fail to walk in the spirit of self-control. When someone succumbs to temptation it is due to the failure to bring their desires under control. (James 1:13-14).

"Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am being tempted by God” [for temptation does not originate from God, but from our own flaws]; for God cannot be tempted by [what is] evil, and He Himself tempts no one. But each one is tempted when he is dragged away, enticed and baited [to commit sin] by his own [worldly] desire (lust, passion). Then when the illicit desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and when sin has run its course, it gives birth to death."

He that hath no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls.

(Proverbs 25:28)

You cannot control everything that you may encounter in life; you cannot control what thing may happen to you, what people say and or do, but you are in control of you and how you deal with the things you encounter. Use what God gave you, His spirit, self-control, everything you need for life and godliness.

According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue:

(2 Peter 1:3)

Prayer

Father I declare the manifestation of my spiritual new birth in my life as I walk in dominion over my flesh, my desire and temptation.

I declare the character of self-control is evident in every area of my life. I declare self-control over my mouth; no filthy nor idle communication shall come out of my mouth, but my conversation will be seasoned with salt and minister grace to the hearer.

I declare dominion, self-control over my thought life. I will not entertain, meditate, marinate in my mind any ideology, philosophy, teaching or thought that exalt itself against the knowledge of Christ-the King. I bring every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.

I declare dominion, self-control over my emotion and feelings; they will not rule me, control me or lead me, but I will be led by the spirit.

I declare dominion, self-control over my own spirit; I am a fortified city and I govern myself under the government of the King and His Kingdom.

This is the decree of the King


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page