top of page

Prayer of Desensitization


The Canon of Prayer; Day 36 #desensitization

Desensitized

: to make (a sensitized or hypersensitive individual) insensitive or nonreactive to a sensitizing agent

: to make emotionally insensitive or callous; specifically : to extinguish an emotional response (as of fear, anxiety, or guilt) to stimuli that formerly induced it

Ephesians 4:17 - 20

17This I say therefore, and testify in the Lord, that ye henceforth walk not as other Gentiles walk, in the vanity of their mind, 18Having the understanding darkened, being alienated from the life of God through the ignorance that is in them, because of the blindness of their heart: 19Who being past feeling have given themselves over unto lasciviousness, to work all uncleanness with greediness. 20But ye have not so learned Christ;

The concept of desensitization I am addressing in this study and that we will be praying about is a dual concept. The first is a caution of the danger of being desensitized. The second is the concept that we need to be desensitized. Here we have a bit of a paradox; a dichotomy. Let take a look at both of the perspective to get a clear view on how we are to pray the prayer of desensitization.

Caution, Danger

It is imperative that we understand the seriousness of desensitization, I cannot overemphasize the danger of being desensitized. We must be careful not to become insensitive or nonreactive to the Word of God and or the spirit of God.

When we are nonresponsive to the voice and word of God we run the risk of being desensitized to the Word and voice of God. When we are “sensitive” to the voice and word of God; we respond and act accordingly, in obedience. When we hear God and make a habit of ignoring Him we begin to become immune; the Word and voice of God no longer stimulates or move us to action. When this begins to happen we are becoming desensitized.

We Need to Desensitize

There is a desensitization that is needed.

Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him. (2 John 2:15)

We Need to be desensitized from the things of this world; we are, because of sin naturally predisposed to be sensitive to the things of the world. Our flesh is hypersensitive to worldliness, lust and sin. We have to bring the flesh and it's desires under the control of the spirit of God and deny the flesh what it wants. As we deny the flesh what it wants when under temptation we begin to desensitize ourselves from the desires of the flesh. The allure and pull of temptation gets weaker; our sensitivity to worldliness begin to decrease and we become less and less responsive to the stimulus of the world.

Prayer

Father keep me from being desensitized in the spirit; may I alway be sensitive to you voice and word, not Just to hear but to move, to act, to respond. I bind the enemy even now, and I come against every plan, plot and assignment of the devil to cause me to become desensitized to your voice and the Word. I pray for laser sharp hearing to hear clearly what you speak to me in the spirit and I will revenge all disobedience as I obey your voice and your Word.

I declare and decree the spirit of discernment that will enable me to hear your voice amongst the voices. I declare and decree strengthened faith that will empower me to endure temptation. I declare and decree a steadfast spirit. I declare and decree an urgency in my spirit to respond and act when you speak.

Father, I declare and decree that I am desensitized to the things of the world. I declare and decree, the allure of worldly things are losing their pull. I'm building my immunity in the spirit against all things not godliness, against all things worldly and all things fleshly.

I bind and rebuke the devil and every spirit assigned to my life to condition me, sensitize me to worldly thing. I come against every, assignment, plot, plan and strategy of the devil to sensitize me to worldliness, ungodly things and sin.

This the Decree decree of the King.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page